Unsold tax properties

10 Replies

I am new to bigger pockets and investing. Someone told me about unsold tax properties. Can anyone tell me how to find them in my town and if they are worth it?

@Ivelisse Matos I can only speak to unsold tax liens in the state of New Jersey. The tax lien auctions are well attended and competitive and so if there is a lien that goes unsold there is usually a very good reason and the property to which the lien is attached probably has no little to no value. You can call the local municipality (tax collector's office) for this information. Best of luck.

Michael 

@Michael Leffelholz

Thank you for your answer! From what I understood there is a way to get them before? So I need to search for tax lien auctions instead?

@Ivelisse Matos You're referring to "over the counter" tax deed properties.  These are properties that, once they were sent to the tax deed auction, no one was willing to bid the total amount of taxes owed.  So, if no one else wanted it for that price, why would you?

Usually the worst of the worst.  Properties I wouldn't take for free.  Generally you'll find inaccessible landlocked parcels in rural areas, vacant lots in very rough areas (usually with a municipal demolition lien plus a ton of lot clearing liens attached), odd slivers of land (ie 8 ft wide lots), or swamp land/marsh/wasteland.  Tax deed auctions are competitive, if the property has value above the taxes it will sell (and even most times when it doesn't there's still a sucker who can't pass up the chance to own something for a few thousand dollars)

@Wayne Brooks someone referred to them as a good option, not I wouldn't even get near them. I guess I was looking for tax lien auctions instead, but looks like they are a battlefield as well.

@Patrick L. Thank you for your answer, they do really sound awful, not what I was looking for. Thanks for the information!