Who loves investing in non performing residential notes?

12 Replies

I have been investing in non performing notes now for 11 years primarily junior liens. 

I just love this business and would like to hear from you first off how you are using BiggerPockets, and second if you are enjoying this note space as well. 

I've I've found Bigger Pockets to be a great resource for both getting advice and giving advice on Note investing. We buy first position npls and rpls and I've also bought them in my personal self-directed Ira portfolio. I always prefer a loan payment rather than a rent check on any asset that I own!

Hey @Mike Ruscica I LOVE the note business. Haven't been around as long as you, Yoda, but I buy  1st liens, mortgages and contracts for deed. Love the lifestyle and love that I also get to help borrowers  and their communities while making big returns.

I prefer the origination side of the business and working with business owners as opposed to homeowners.. although as a short term HML we do have to fight through ups and downs.. no free lunch.

I have bought notes in the past but primarily from institutions right before they were going to cry them at the steps.. Idea being if someone bids it we make a wind fall but If I get the asset we turn it and sell it for big return..

I have been buying first position performing notes in my IRA since the early 80s.. owned two HML companies doing 10 to 20 million a year in new deals. So lot of water under the bridge.

and every decade brings a new soup de jour .. now with the internet NPN space is quite active.

Although from my perspective most beginner note investors would be best suited in a fund like

@Bob Malecki   or @Mike Hartzog for the NPN RPF space let them do the heavy lifting.. get experience then try it yourself..

or if your in the Junior space of course you can throw 3k on a junior in Ohio or MI and well what the heck just little money to practice on..