Notes and lending private money

17 Replies

Hey everyone.  I've been flipping houses and owning rentals for around 15 years now, and also doing a bit of Realtor work during that time as well.  Lately, I've come across several opportunities where I (or another investor maybe) could potentially make private money loans to house buyers/owners.  These are most often owner-occupied single family homes.  I've been in this biz long enough to recognize a deal when I see it, but I've not been able to pull the trigger yet.  Along those lines, this whole world of buying/selling/brokering/funding/making loans - well, so many people try to make it out to be some type of secret society that you have to be in or something.  Sure, I need to get educated, but the basics don't seem that complicated to me.  But then people start bringing in points about the law.  First off, is it somehow illegal for me (or someone else) to make a private money loan to a residential owner-occupant buyer?

it sure is.. you may want to bone up on 

Dodd FRank also Tennessee specifically is one of the states that requires a license to make any kind of loan secured by real estate.. that's why many regional HML don't work there..

you need Dodd Frank  QM rules for owner occ  and you need a TN specific lender license.

this can all be done with proper licensing.. 

The feds may not care about my constitutional thoughts, but as Dodd Frank relates to one person loaning money to another in the same state - I think that the law is unconstitutional.  Just my 2-cents, but I do thank you for the reply and the answer.  

@Bryan L.

As jay mentions owner occupied is highly regulated vs non owner occupied. While it is not a secret society (I agree many people make it out to be but It is like all facets of real estate investing in that how many are actually doing it just like other forms of real estate).

Before you start I recommend getting an attorney and a RMLO on your team