Starting to invest as a college student

6 Replies | Minneapolis, Minnesota

I have been studying real estate investing for the last few years. I am at the point where I really want to start investing. Being a college student, I do not have what it takes to qualify for a traditional mortgage. My question being, is there a way to get creative with financing and be able to get a owner occupied duplex or triplex in the Minneapolis area? Any information would be great, as I am still learning through this whole process. 

I would love to connect with some experienced investors to learn even more about this industry. 

Biggest help would be to get a job for proof of income and establish reserves. Then you can look into seller financing or some other kind of unconventional money. Maybe you can have your parents co sign or something. People have done it before. Just need to get creative with it.

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Investor-Friendly Agents in Minneapolis
Work with an agent who understands your needs as an investor and helps you find the best deals.
Find Your Agent Now

@Jarod Blackowiak when you say conventional financing, are you also considering FHA or USDA programs? Many times if you're owner occupant you can go for as low as 0% down. If its 3.5% you can also ask the seller to give you up to 3.5% cash back at close to use for down payment, if you can just simply show the reserves up front you'll be able to qualify.

If you have looked that route and are still having trouble with the cash down you may want to explore seller financing, or hang tight till you have a little more cash on hand.