Dayton Tornados-How does that affect investors?

6 Replies

I'm a newbie, still learning and hunting my first deal. I was just curious how does a natural disaster affect real estate investors? Is this a good time for investors or a time to chill out? I don't want to be insensitive to anyone affected by it, so I've been kind of chill for the past week. Has any of you experienced a natural disaster in your area, and how did it affect you as an investor? 

HI carmen I do a lot of work in Dayton  we have our own contracter there, we are  working hard to move up projects and get as many rental units on the market as possible because there is a shortage and many displaced peole.. they are going to need funds including investment funds to rebuild the city. We are also puting in time to help with clean up and donating where we can.

It depends on specifically what was affected by the disaster. We sold our investments in the Dayton area (and they weren't affected anyway), and just purchased a small apartment complex in Sevierville, TN. That's a short distance from Gatlinburg, where the 2016 fires destroyed a lot of workforce housing. A lot of that has since been rebuilt, but since it's new, it's now class A, and rents for much higher prices. Our class C apartments are now some of the few in the area in their price range, and there is a waiting list for them. If you look on Zillow for rentals, there's very little inventory for any price. Granted, the disaster was over two years ago, but the low inventory situation would have been even more pronounced in late 2016- early 2017. 

We were also looking to build a new house in the area in 2017, and it took us a year to find a builder who wasn't trying to gouge us on price. They just didn't need the business with all the insurance work to do.