David Hernandez
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Votes |
House hacking in OKC

David Hernandez
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Posted Jul 19 2021, 16:21

Hello everyone, 

So I have been learning about real estate investing & house hacking and I am ready to start my journey. I'd prefer to buy a duplex so that I can rent out one unit and rent a room in the unit I'd be living in, or buy a 3 bed 2 bath house and rent the extra rooms. For those who house hack or rent rooms how's your experience been in OKC? What are some tips and tricks for a newbie like myself? I'm excited to start my journey soon so any comments would be helpful. 

Thanks. 

User Stats

Votes
Jason Garder
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Votes |
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Replied Jul 20 2021, 08:11

Hey David - I'm a realtor and investor here in OKC and have helped a few clients do this same strategy of buying a duplex to house hack. I personally think it's one of the best ideas for a first time home buyer. I'm helping someone currently purchase a duplex with a FHA loan so he is getting into it for only 3.5% down which is pretty amazing for what you are thinking about doing.

I'd be happy to talk on the phone if you are interested, there is too much to type out here on the subject but just let me know. Shoot me over a DM if you want!

User Stats

Votes
Cassi Justiz
  • Edmond, OK
Votes |
  • Edmond, OK
Replied Jul 20 2021, 10:53

Hey David,