Knoxville Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes
John Porter
Votes |
Investors in Knoxville, TN

John Porter
Posted Nov 22 2019, 13:46

I am very new to real estate investing and I was just wondering if there were any local investors on here that could help share some knowledge about the market around the area. Meaning any trending areas in population, best school districts, best areas to look for, etc. Any information shared would be extremely helpful, thank you!

User Stats

Votes
Ken Dillard
  • Investor
  • Franklin, TN
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Franklin, TN
Replied Nov 27 2019, 04:50

Probably the best advice I can give is take a step back and define what real estate investment strategy you will have - flips, single family, multifamily, price points, short term rentals, etc.; this will point you into a more specific path and focus.  The area around Ijams has been hot, Oak Ridge and Maryville can be good, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg for short term rentals, and lots of other options.

As far as neighborhood stats on crime and appreciation, etc I have found Neighborhood Scout gives a good overview:

https://www.neighborhoodscout....

Also, @Derek Tellier hosts a local meet up where you will find a lot of good people sharing inforamtion.

Hope that helps

Ken

User Stats

Votes
Brian Boyd
Pro Member
  • USA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • USA
Replied Nov 27 2019, 05:08

I echo @Ken Dillard's advice. I have properties in Chattanooga, Knoxville and Mt. Juliet. Knoxville is an interesting market with the University. You will need to define what type of property you want to purchase and the type of renter. Having purchased a property in Pigeon Forge, I would advise against that short term rental market since the management companies are unreasonable with their management fee- nothing is left over for the property owner after they get their fees.