User Stats

Votes
Sehun Kook
Votes |
Questions from very new beginner: How to start in DFW

Sehun Kook
Posted Jul 1 2019, 18:56

Hi, DFW experts

I am a newbie to both Bigger Pocket and Real Estate investment and am absorbing a lot of information on BP now and learning from all experienced experts here. Really appreciate all for sharing valuable experience and knowledge. 

I relocated to Dallas from Bay area last year and am having a healthy W2 job that I would like to continue for at least 10 years (or more) but would like to start REI and build my own portfolio of equity in real estate for financial freedom. (rather than early retirement).

Now, I live in Frisco (Coit and 121 highway) and have no experience in direct real estate investment except REIT and crowdfunding. I bought my primary homes twice (one in bay area and the other one in Frisco, TX) and sold my first home in bay area only once in my entire life.

With that said, my current strategy is to buy and hold multiplex and single family home for a long run that can generate monthly cash flow, and I would like to expand the units slowly. 

Now, as a very uneducated, baby investor (and relatively new to DFW area),  I have some questions and would like to hear your opinions. 

1. I went through the forum and learned that it's very hard to find a good deal "these days". Market has been good, and housing price is continuously increasing and at peak across most of country. I understand DFW is a big metro covering wide areas, and each city/county may vary widely, but is 1% still applicable in DFW in general? What % (monthly rent / purchase price) is a rule of thumb number that is generally used in DFW area when considering a good deal (or not bad deal)?