Up and coming areas in Austin

11 Replies | Austin, Texas

Hi All. I'm new to Austin and am looking for the up and coming areas in which to invest. 

What areas do people avoid now and have potential to grow in this growing city? 

I'd prefer multi-family homes or small multi-unit apartment buildings. 

And if there are folks out there who are looking for the same, I'd love to connect and possibly partner. 

Take a look at Franklin Park, Colony Loop/Colony Park/Expo center, Manor, SoCo south of 71 and the immediate area.

Check out Montopolis neighborhood, or Govalle/Springdale if you're flipping. Depends on your strategy though. There are still some decent buy and hold pockets near Lamar and Rundberg or off of the North 183 corridor. 

@Patrick DiDomenico I would also checkout 78758. That zipcode is a bit awkward since properties in the Domain and Rundberg are both part of that zipcode. Domain being the "next downtown" and Rundberg being one of the places in Austin with the most crime.

I wholesale properties and can tell you that all of the areas you guys have mentioned are really good. It takes some experience and an investor's eye to see the potential in an area before the entire market realizes it. Montopolis and South East Austin is really solid. The 183 development is bringing a lot of attraction. We sold a deal for $155k in the area to a client that did about $65k in work and was able to sell it for $297k after 5 days on the market.

Franklin Park is great. Roy Kizer/Jimmy Clay golf courses are actually really nice and I think that community has some solid potential.

North is another really solid area. You're right Peter about 78758. We do a looot of work over there. The Domain is becoming its own city. A bunch of younger adults are renting more over there and I think will want to start buying in the area in the coming years.