• Austin, TX
Votes |
Austin, TX - Contractor for light flip

Brandon Harrison
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Posted Nov 24 2020, 12:06

Hello all,

I'm a newbie investor (I currently own one triplex) living in Austin, TX. I am under contract for a live-in flip in Austin.  It's a relatively "light" flip which is what I was seeking as my first attempt at flipping. My plan is to try to do some of the work myself so I can learn, and then outsource some of the work (knocking down a couple walls) so that I can get some experience managing contractors and ensure the larger projects are done properly. My plan is to hold the property and live in it for 2 years before selling. I'm looking for any advice in managing through this and recommendations of contractors in Austin, TX. 

Here's some more numbers:

I'm purchasing the property for $524k (3bd, 3 bath, 2100 sqft, built in 1985 in the NW Austin area)

Estimated repairs: $30k (open one kitchen wall up, new appliances, new man made countertops painted cabinets, new vinyl flooring throughout, new paint throughout, remove popcorn ceilings.)

ARV: 585k

Thanks all!

User Stats

Votes
Nina Hayden
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Dallas, Austin
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Dallas, Austin
Replied Nov 24 2020, 14:19

Congrats!  Where are you getting your estimate for repairs?  Make sure you get to know your contractors.  Labor is going to be your issue followed by finding and managing the right tenant.  

User Stats

Votes
Brandon Harrison
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied Nov 24 2020, 14:29

Thanks @Nina Hayden! The estimate is very rough... I just used photos and discussed with an out of state contractor I’ve worked with on my out of state triplex, so very rough!