Needing some advice please for Chicago

15 Replies

Hi there, I'm new to BP.

I'm a property investor from Melbourne Australia and I'm looking to buy foreclosure property in Chicago.  Can anyone please give me some advice as to roughly what rental return I could expect to receive from a 3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Condo I am looking at buying in Michigan Ave, Chicago IL?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Peter

As Brie stated rentomenter is a good gauge as to what rental rates are pretty much anywhere in Chicago. i would caution though that for Michigan avenue, your ROI there might not be that high. Buying on Michigan ave (unless you are talking about way south) is sometimes akin to buying in NY in regards to prices. And the HOA fees really add up due to all the amenities offered in a lot of those buildings.

Please ensure that all your costs are taken into account because it is very easy to get burned buying essentially in the heart of downtown Chicago if you are not careful. 

If you use rentometer don't assume every property on Michigan Avenue will give you the same results for rent.  Michigan avenue runs for miles & there's a vast difference in rent from one district to the next.

@Peter Appla I think rentometer is a good starting point but I like using padmapper.com to see what is currently available. You can set the filters to 3 bed/2 bath and then look at each individual unit. That way you can see what amenities are offered as well compared to your place. This helped me a lot when I needed to know how to price my unit. If I had just gone off what rentometer gave me I would be getting $300-400 a month less than what I got for the place.