Converting downtown office space for short-term rental

9 Replies

Does anyone here have any experience converting commercial zoned office buildings to short term rentals in Spokane? I've begun looking into the process with the city and it sounds like it will require a change of use to hotel/motel which will most likely come with additional requirements. Fire suppression systems = expensive so if there are ways around this I'd love to know about it. I have friends in other markets that have used this strategy and seen excellent returns.

Hello Caleb, I am not an expert in this by any means, but essentially, if you convert commerical into a residential condo, you could lease them out nightly, which many not have the same requirements of the hotel/motel parameters. My guess though is they are going to still want fire supression in place. Curious to hear any other thoughts on this. I know the building that I have my office in, the Minnesota Oakley is residential/commercial condos.

I don't know about your area but your first step is zoning.  Most commercial zoning has a subset - IE office space, warehousing, etc.  My guess is that "hotel" will not be under these definitions if it was previously an office building.  I am guessing it will not be a conditional use either so you would have to apply for a change in zoning.  You may want to talk the city and see if they would support the project before paying the fees and putting  your time to it.  

On the fire suppression system - I believe this is a building code requirement, not a state/local requirement.  I can't see you getting around that.

According to Section 17C.316.030 :

In zones where Retail Sales and Service uses are allowed, limited or conditional uses, short-term rentals may be regulated either as a Retail Sales and Service use or as hotel motel.

This states that short-term rentals operating in commercial zones are regulated differently than residential zones.