Submitting a competitive offer in a HOT market

16 Replies

Ok, so we have not had much luck submitting offers on houses listed on the MLS. I’m having a hard time adjusting to this competitive market we are in and would like some insight as to how to structure our offers to get accepted. I used to be an agent years ago, so I know some of the techniques, but it sounds like the game has changed. All cash? Pre-inspections? Let me know some strategies to get these offers accepted! Thanks!

In very competitive markets, I found out you have to be super quick.

Good properties and bargains don't last very long. They can go on the same day they are listed.

Some of the techniques:

- So again, ... act very quickly.

- Putting down a large deposit shows your commitment. 

- Reach out to the listing agent directly (if you are not using a an agent to source your properties), they have more incentives to close quickly and with you if they know they would be getting all of the commission.

- If you are going to get a mortgage, make sure you have pre-approval letter ready to send out with your offers and commit to close quickly.

- Going all cash and showing you have proof of funds to close quickly helps.

i am sure there are others but these are the tips i can think of very quickly off the top of my head.

@Carly Snapp My son just recently closed on a home in Seattle ...on just his 3rd try!  He looked at the home the day it listed, had inspections done the following day, He was preapproved for a quick-close loan, THEN made his offer with a $5k escalation clause up to his top allowable price accompanied by a 5% non-refundable earnest money upon approval -with no contingencies.  He only paid $106k over ask.  With a few improvements and 2 months he already has equity! 

You have to be prepared and decisive, fully ready to act. 

Good luck! 

Originally posted by @Curtis Bidwell :