Local markets dfor long term rental?

8 Replies

What markets nearby to Vancouver, WA, USA (and not in Oregon) should I be looking at if I want to purchase a long-term residential rental in summer or fall 2018? 

Housing prices in the area are currently elevated such that, for every property I've done some analysis on, operating expenses swamp rental income and depreciation. 

Thanks Adrian. Seattle is too far for me right now. I haven't examined any listings there to gauge whether or not an investment would otherwise meet my goals, but I do agree in general about the city's future prospects.

I invest in Vancouver and Camas.  Both areas are growing...numbers aren't great but I am getting there!  Rents are increasing hand over foot right now.  Feel free to contact me.  I am also an agent and am happy to chat with like minded people!

Vancouver is one of two areas in WA at which I'm looking. I'm coming from Silicon Valley, so the Vancouver area's prices are pretty darn reasonable to me!

The city proper is still good, particularly in the northern region. I've heard you should avoid Rose Village, but almost everywhere else is OK. Camas and Washougal are further eastward & smaller, but also have nice communities & reasonable prices.

HI Norm,

SW Washington is a great area to invest. For what it's worth here's a short run down: