Wordpress themes: Free vs Premium

12 Replies

Are there any IT people out there who can tell me if there really is a difference between free and premium WordPress themes?  I am looking for real estate themes, and i have found several free ones and a lot of premium ones.  I have read a few articles that mentioned premium themes are the way to go, but the arguments didn't seem too compelling to me (besides maybe the technical support that comes with paid themes), and they also seemed to be a year or two old.  Not sure if this was before free real estate themes were available, as I am fairly new to WordPress. Does anyone have any insight as to whether a premium real estate theme would be more beneficial than a free one?  As far as i can tell, I am just looking for perks that both free and premium seem to offer (color and layout editing, option for slider, unlimited pages, blogging capability, videos, pixs, etc). Thank you.

Essentially everything you want would come with a free theme. If there are added features that you want, you can often just use a plugin. Premium themes come with more features, but it's nothing you couldn't create on your own. There are also a lot of free plugins, that can add those features for you. There are a lot of great free themes out there that are not real estate ones, it's just finding the one that's right for you. 

Creating pages, can be more difficult. I suggest getting a page layout builder plugin to help center content or create columns. 

WordPress is also thought of as a community of people with a lot of support forums. Any problem you have can be answered by someone quickly. 

I have become incredibly well educated in WordPress, themes, plugins, and coding the last few months, so if you have any questions, I can answer them for you. 

Best, 

Lexie