Real Estate APIs and Data Science

27 Replies

Hello everyone!

Quick bit about me- I'm a data scientist working in NYC and literally just started looking into REI a week ago. Mostly because of the dream I have of retiring early with a nice cash flow, but also partly because of the undoubtedly cool stuff I can do with the data.

I'm aware there are probably a good amount of tools/sites already available for determining hot markets in the area, where to invest in hopes of appreciation, predicting house value, etc. But it would be a dope project to build some machine learning model tuned to exactly what I want, like interactions between price and crime and population movement and income shifts and their impact on cash flow, not just property value. And so on and so forth.

I'm going with the Zillow API for now but it seems there's a pretty low rate limit. But it's a good start.

If anyone can point me to less-known real estate open databases/APIs that supply additional information, as well as any smaller data sources you find valuable, please let me know! I'd love to share any findings here.

And if anyone's looked into or done this kind of stuff- data science for real estate- I'm very curious about your experiences and I'd love to hear about them!

Thanks!

@Sebastian Garcia

Played around with this a bit myself. I am a software engineer. I also live in NYC.

My take is that disorganized and unfiltered data sources are some of the most compelling. Some ideas:

* County auction sites

* Insurance auction sites

* Educational data

* For sale by owner lists (if there is such a thing)

* Listings from smaller real-estate firms

Just a few ideas to get you going. One of the most interesting parts about real-estate is how decentralized it is. The idea of a single source for anything is almost an anathema. I think the smart people recognize that and bring together disparate parties to create win-win situations.

@Trevor Ewen