Skip to content
BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat

User Stats

Votes
Rob Carmody
Votes |
Recommend Solar Panels for Rental Property?

Rob Carmody
Posted Jun 18 2022, 10:21

I am no expert when it comes to solar, but I have seen some retailers advertising 0% down payment and low (0.49%) interest rates for solar panel installation in the area. When I think about both the appraisal + utility cost savings, it makes sense to me that this could be worth the investment.  Does anyone have any experience with this? Good idea? Bad idea? What should I be considering (like I said, this is a new idea for me)?

User Stats

Votes
Leo R.
  • Investor
Votes |
  • Investor
Replied Jun 18 2022, 10:39

This is an excellent question, and I've also wondered about this...personally, I pass the utilities costs on to tenants, so my hunch is that the money the tenants pay for utilities could probably also cover the cost of a solar system (or at least offset a large chunk of the cost of the solar system)....but, I've never taken the time to run the numbers to know for sure...

Although I don't have an answer to your question, one consideration that may be important is the age of the roof--I would assume that once the solar panels go on, it would be a pain to remove them to replace the roof (plus, if you remove them to replace the roof, where is your power going to come from while the roof is being replaced?). Based on that, my assumption is that it would probably make sense to only add solar if the roof is fairly new (or, if the roof is old, replace the roof and then add the solar)....or, if your lot is large and appropriate for it, put the solar panels in the yard and avoid that whole mess...

I'll be interested to see if folks have any good answers to your question...

User Stats

Votes
Bill Brandt#3 1031 Exchanges Contributor
  • Investor
  • Las Vegas, NV
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Las Vegas, NV
Replied Jun 18 2022, 11:00