Votes
Lisa Blubaugh
  • Des Moines, IA
Votes |
Des Moines area- how to start?

Lisa Blubaugh
  • Des Moines, IA
Posted Dec 2 2020, 11:24

Hi! I've been reading and lurking off and on for about a year. I need help figuring out where to start. I want to try to BRRRR strategy. My husband and I both have credit scores around 650 and we're trying to pay off about $3500 in credit card debt. We started new higher paying jobs recently and we currently rent a house. I guess my question is, should we work on improving our credit scores (how high?) and saving up to get an FHA loan? For locals, is there an area in or around Des Moines that you recommend? I just need a starting point and a general direction. Thanks in advance!

User Stats

Votes
Darson Grantham
Property Manager
  • Realtor
  • Des Moines
Votes |
Property Manager
  • Realtor
  • Des Moines
Replied Dec 2 2020, 12:18
Hi Lisa! I'm a local agent/investor in the Des Moines area. My suggestion for you is to start househacking/BRRR combination.
Meaning, buy a house traditionally fix it up while you live there and then refinance, rent and move out on to the next househack.  This can be done with Single family or duplex/triplex/4plex if you find the right ones. 

Then speak with a few lenders and get pre-qualified for a conventional loan (not an FHA) You SHOULD be able to find a few around town that will allow you to put down only 5%. The reason i say no FHA is that many houses that would fit the BRRR model will not qualify for an FHA loan due to their condition.

The second is to determine a time frame. Are you in a rental lease for a period of time or are you month to month? This will trigger your motivation to be patient and wait on a really good deal or if you'll need to be less selective due to the timing of your lease ending.