Why so many recommendations to go multi family - commercial?

68 Replies

I'm a newbie and have recently purchased 3 properties, all townhomes in Utah. Two are in southern Utah and will be vacation rentals which will cash flow really well. My third is a long term rental in northern Utah that will appreciate well but cash flow low. I'm looking to take the next step by investing out of state where properties are more affordable. I'm trying to decide on a market but also on the best strategy for me to scale my business by acquiring either SFH or small multi-family residential - duplex, triplex, or fourplex or 5 plus multifamily commercial. My goal is to buy and hold rental properties and in 5 years have the option to retire (if wanted) from my W2 job. Has anyone stepped through this that could recommend which is the best approach to scale at this early stage?

I would just keep buying,  Don't hesitate.  The equity of your properties will make you wealthy.

My son in Clearfield is doing just that.  He has 3 houses and great net worth.  He has a wife and 4 kids and they live very well.  He owns his own glass company, does several flips for people that know him and he takes a part of the equity for his work.  Has a  couple new big homes being built South of Provo and should do very well.

I suggest not getting any partners unless they are only money people for a part of the pie.

I did over 900 flips in Ogden in the 90"s .  Last house I lived in Fruit Heights and raised my teenage kids there.  I love your area but don't miss your winters!!

Good luck

Dave

@David Avery I agree. It is always hard to purchase when the cash flow is not great but my rents have gone up considerably over the last few years and now my cash flow instead of $150/month is 500-850/month. Real estate investing for cash flow really is a long game but Utah is booming and hesitation is expensive to your future.

Are you kicking yourself now that you didn't try to keep all your flips? :)