Salt Lake City Market

11 Replies

My husband and I currently live in the Houston area and own a short term rental in Galveston. We have an opportunity to move to Salt Lake City and would like to reach out to local investors/agents to get a feel for the market there. Ideally we would like to find a property to house hack. Any suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated!

What kind of properties are you looking to house hack and how soon do you want to be here? I’m a local agent here in Salt Lake. The market right now is a little bit slow but it is a seller’s market. Usually things escalate around the holidays as well so it may be a good opportunity for you and your husband.

Hey Brittney, 

My husband and I are currently house hacking and own a couple properties, my husband is also real estate appraiser. The housing supply is low right now, and prices are high. There are a lot of investors in the area so finding  good deals can b a little challenging, but not impossible.  My advice would would be do look for a house in/around the Taylorsville/West Jordan/Murray area.  These are good areas with B and C level housing whose pricing hasn't shot through the roof like east side SLC or northern Utah County. There are many homes with already established basement apartments and a demand for rentals. You can rent a basement apartment for around a $1 per square foot or just under depending on the quality. Homes like this are going to run between 200-300K and the basement apartment can cover around 75% of your total mortgage. Good luck! 

(801) 833-1181

Hey Natalie,

We are looking to move within the next month or so but are willing to rent for a few months in order to find the right property. We are really interested in renting out the garage apt or basement as a short term rental so I thought the neighborhoods more centrally located near downtown might perform better. Maybe we can meet up the next time we fly up to look at properties.

Thanks,
Brittney

Hey Kenya,