Rental investment within 100 miles radius of Washington DC

14 Replies

Hi, and Happy Holidays to All - I'm new to BP and overall new to REI.

I'm here to learn and seek advices from the more experience investors so i can make a well informed decision on my first rental investment (buy and hold).  

Being local to the Northern Virginia (NoVA - WashDC suburbs) markets, the prices are relatively high and generally out of my $275k pricing budget.

Originally i was looking for a condo in reston and other desirable areas (arlington, vienna, etc), however the condo fees can range from 200s to 600s+/mo. this will likely decrease the cash flow and therefore may not work.  

Question is:  besides NoVA areas and within 100 miles radius, are there other areas that meet the following requirements:

• easy to rent
  • low vacancy
  • positive cash flow
  • up and coming
  • appreciation
  • ready to rent or minor repairs
  • up to 275k price

appreciate your thoughts.

@Dang Tran
In PG County you can find townhouses or condos in that price range or BALTIMORE which will provide cash flow, these are in C areas.

You will cash flow on these but do not bank on any appreciation. Also if your looking for cash flow finding turnkey is a little more difficult. If you find a property that may need $20-30k of work you can get better returns

You wont get a ton of cash flow and appreciation in the area. One or the other. Typically better cash flownin the out lying areas, and appreciation potential increases the closer into DC you get. Also you see demamd for rentals increase the closer you get, so the outlying areas are a little harder to rent.  

You might consider Baltimore.  There's a big rental market in the city.  Obviously, you'll need to familiarize yourself with the appropriate neighborhoods that meet your criteria, but I think your price range would be a great fit.