HELP!! Minnesota is over Priced and cold here I come Phoenix!

12 Replies

Hello I am relocating from Saint Paul Mn to Phoenix AZ. I have been looking for duplexes to house hack here In MN with my agent. I’m a veteran and I’m ready to invest in real estate. I believe I could get more for my money in Phoenix (and I would never have to shovel again) I’m looking for advice on where to look for duplexes to house hack in the Phoenix area.

There is a lot of value in Glendale, Central Phoenix, and South Phoenix. Also a greater chance that the property is going to need some repairs in those areas. I would suggest Mesa or North Central Phoenix for duplexes because there can be some nicer pockets of neighborhoods but you could still find some value properties. Scottsdale has a few duplexes on the market and they are the cleanest of all but not the best numbers you’ll find. 

I'm going to piggy-back @Kantrell Bland 's question and ask about Apache Junction from a local perspective.  My mom has a small townhouse there (Apache Junction).  It's not the nicest area however it seems like it is in the path of progress and places seem to be pretty affordable.  Plus it's still only a 30-ish minute drive to Phoenix airport.  It's a fully developed town and all but it's a little run down.  But to the west is fully-developed Mesa which is really nice.  Last time I was visiting I noticed a lot of construction moving east into AJ.  Further east are pretty posh suburbs that are pretty much new construction.  I felt like AJ might be a great place to get in while the gettin's good.  This might be another option for Kantrell.  But, with that said, maybe the areas that @Kellen King mentioned are no-brainers and therefore should be pursued first.  Maybe Kellen can comment again.  Thanks.

@Josh Collins  I love investing in AJ. My buddy and I have made more money in that city than any other in the East Valley.  We currently have 4 cash flowing properties there and I’m always looking for more.