New to BP and curious about multi family rentals in Des Moines

5 Replies

I am new to BP and live in Des Moines ia. A lot of new construction and development entering this area. Looking for advice on whether or not right now is a good time to invest In Multifamily Property. Things I should be researching or looking for in this specific market place. And advice would be much appreciated!

It’s a great time to invest if it meets your criteria! :-) do you have a written criteria that your willing to share?  I’m sure more people can weigh in to your question after knowing this information. 

The new construction are all commanding top dollar rents. 2/2's going for $1,450 and up. Some really high if they have amenities like workout areas and such. Older, in need of cosmetics in Des Moines rentals are about $750-900 for 2/2 and 3/2's. Ankeny rents are going for higher. I get $1,110 for 2/1 and $1,325 for 3/2 duplex. Both upgraded in last several  years, with 1 stall garage. I'd say it all depends on what kind of resources you have. I like the in-between that I own. Not new, not old and "dusty". Plenty of duplexes around $200,000. But they need some TLC. I was just outbid on two duplexes in Ankeny. Thought the people paid too much. Don't see how they cash flow. 1% is what I'm looking for around here, or higher in Des Moines since landlord pays a lot of utilities. Tight margins on buy and holds right now. 

Welcome to BP Logan! Unless you are a large firm that has the opportunity to invest across numerous, uncorrelated assets, investing in real estate is a continuous process. You have to be looking for and buying deals at all points of the cycle. So if you're like me and only invest in real estate then it is always a good time to invest. However, in certain times (like these), I would recommend proceeding with caution rather than aggression.