Upstate New York Good Cities to Invest

16 Replies

I am interested in investing in the Upstate New York area and I was wondering if any REI BP members have had good success in that market and specially cities such as Rochester, Syracuse, Buffalo and Albany.

From my research, I know that the properties do not appreciate much but based on the properties purchase prices there seems to have good ROI and good cash flow.

Looking to invest in SFH and small multi-family (2 - 4 units) properties and apply the BRRRR strategy.

Any thoughts, feedback and insight on cities and areas that you have success investing as well as areas that do not do so well or to avoid would be very much appreciated.   Thanking you all for your feedback in advance!!!

I have invested in Syracuse in the 2007 and it was a big mistake. I was a novice investor and didn't know too much. The houses are "old stock", will require lots of repairs and maintenance. The taxes were very high compared the the value of the house. I believe there are 3 taxes, county, city and school taxes which I didn't know about. There are snow removal fees which I didn't know about. Also, I was an out of town investor. My biggest mistake was trusting my property manager. My properties were always vacant and time to time there was vandalism. If you live in the area and keep and eye on the property, I think it's a great idea. I invested in the Syracuse market because it was affordable. Get a great property manager and you'll be more successful.

Thank you Ray and Patrick for your feedback and very much appreciated! For sure when investing long distance and not locally, you need to have a good solid team in place in the market you are investing in such as the property manager, rehab construction general contractor and real estate broker which are your boots on the ground...

Wondering with Syracuse if this is the same with Rochester, Buffalo and Albany???