Multi-Property Single Family Portfolio -Nashville, TN

31 Replies

Hello, I am a broker and wholesaler in Middle TN..I have an offer in on a group of residential properties. There are 4 single family properties and 3 duplexes in this group. I am new to wholesaling and very new to valuing a mixed residential portfolio and wanted to seek some help.

Each of the 10 doors is rented at or above market rent. Several long term tenants. Minimum lease term is 2 years. Three of the single family properties are going to require flood insurance. The properties are in good condition from the outside and the locations are decent.

Does anyone have advice on the best way to establish value on something like this? Monthly rents are $8320.

SFRs and duplexes are valued using the comp method.

Agree with @Jon Holdman : you need to evaluate these one at a time - find the comps for each one and add all the 10 properties.

You can also use a spreadsheet like the one below. You can do a goal-seek in excel and calculate what the sales price will be if the investor likes a 15% CCR. I do this when I wholesale properties to landlords.

While you can use the comp method, if you are trying to sell to an investor, you have to consider the cap rate also. If you are selling them as a package, the buyer is certainly an investor. If you sell them one by one, you can do comps alone. As an investor, rents of 8400, apply 50% rule gives NOI of 4200. Thats an annual rent of 50,400. The cap rate depends on the neighborhood but I would rarely do less than a 10 cap so that puts a max value of about $500K. If its a solid B to B+ may go a bit higher and for a C it may go a bit lower. But thats what its worth to an investor. Also any investor willing to buy a package will certainly demand a discount to the sum of individual values.

Thank you Wendell and you as well Jon.