3 Family analysis in MA, first property...

6 Replies

Hello,

This is my first property and I would like to get some input from all of you who are way more experienced than I am. I am looking to buy and hold for positive cash flow. I am a contractor so the repairs and maintenance I will be handling myself.

• Purchase Price: $195,000
  • Closing Costs $3,000
  • Down Payment(25%):$48,750
  • Terms: 30 years 4.75%
  • P and I: $763
  • Rents: $2700, Annual: $32,400
  • Vacancy(8.3%):$2700
  • Prop. Taxes: $3,100
  • Prop. Ins.: $1,800
  • Repairs(Not Much Needed): $3,200
  • Utilities(Water, Common areas electric): $1,500
  • Maintenance(5%): $1620
  • Lawn/Snow Removal: $1200
  • Total Operating Expenses: $12,520
  • Net Operating Income: $17,180
  • Annual Debt Service: $9155
  • Cash Flow: $8025
  • Cap Rate: 9%
  • CCR: 16%

Am I missing anything?

Thank you for your help.

Kyle

A couple of questions:

What town is it in? Not trying to scoop your deal, (all my rentals are in NH, I don't buy in MA) but the location matters, you can PM me if you like.

Who pays the heat and hot water?

How old is the building, your maintenance looks light.

Closing costs might be light too.

Medium small logoAnn Bellamy, Buy Now, LLC | 800‑418‑0081 | http://www.buynowhardmoney.com | Podcast Guest on Show #9

Agree with the others that the closing costs seem low. I'd budget at least double that number unless you have an actual estimate from your lender that it is going to be more like $3K.

I will assume the answer to the who pays for the heat and hot water is the tenants. Given you did a pretty good job identifying expenses and have a line item for your utilities I don't think you would have missed that.

However I also agree that 5% maintenance is kind of low especially if you aren't putting away anything towards CapEx reserves too. If you were putting away an additional 5% for that (for the roof or you multiple boilers/furnaces and hot water heaters, etc.) then okay I'd buy it.