Skip to content
Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
Jake Engle
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Pennsburg, PA
Votes |
Ready to jump into first deal, please provide advice on deal!

Jake Engle
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Pennsburg, PA
Posted Jun 5 2014, 17:01

I have found a property that I am very interested in and am prepared to move along with an offer. I am a first time investor and have just read a few books and researched this site as much as possible. I am a licensed agent and have a pretty solid understanding of my local market.

Now about the property. The property is a Triplex unit, with a two story single a couple feet away. These are two separate parcels being sold together. It is a rural property, so property is served by well and septic.

I believe the property can be purchased for $175,000. The taxes are $4,200. The Triplex has 1 4-br unit, 1 2-br unit, and an efficiency. The single residence is a large 2 br. When comparing possible rents, the units fully rented should rent for $3,300 per month. Two of the units don't need any work and are rented and bringing in $1,300 per month. The other two units need approx. 10-15k in rehab.

Does this deal seem to be a good deal to pursue. My main concern is having a well and septic system service the property. If either of these systems go bad, that is obviously a major expense. Any other info that I could provide to assist in analyzing the deal? I'd really appreciate any advice that you could provide.

User Stats

Votes
Scott Stevens
  • Savannah, GA
Votes |
  • Savannah, GA
Replied Jun 5 2014, 17:40

Jake,

While I can't speak for how things are in your neck of the woods, yes, I've heard that septic issues can be costly. I'm unfamiliar with them, but that's what I've heard from people who have them.