Best way to evaluate current property's financial performance?

23 Replies

I would like to put together something to calculate how well my current property is performing financially. Cap rate, cash-flow, cash on cash return, etc.

And then I would like for you all to comment and provide your thoughts on if it is doing well or not.

What is the best approach to do this? Just put everything in excel? 

@Lance Lvovsky  . She knows what she's talking about :)!

Are you trying to evaluate a deal or compile a quarterly financial statement for your existing properties. 

Brianna- Do the calculators provide you with a spreadsheet after you run the numbers? I'm not a pro yet, so I wouldn't know.

@John E.  It does not put it in a spreadsheet.  But it does have pretty graphs and pictures!

@Brianna Schmidt Nice! Spreadsheets are good, but pretty is great! Couldn't we all use some more 'pretty' in our investing? :)

@John E.  - We all need just a little pretty!  :)

@Brianna Schmidt Someone is about to bulldoze past the 1000 post mark! Kudos to you! You're definitely BPs success story of the week! Keep doing what you're doing. :) 

@Brianna thanks for the link to the calculator. Is there another alternative to that? I am not a pro member. I found an excel spreadsheet in the files section titled Cash-flow analyzer so that may be a good one?

John, I am just trying to see how my current property is doing. And get thoughts from the BP members on what they think is good, bad, etc.

@Lance L.  I am looking for the same thing. Not analyzing a potential deal but analyzing the properties current performance. Maybe indicating when I need to refinance!