Help! Is this a deal I should pursue?

20 Replies

Hi BP,

Here's the deal I'm contemplating....

Seller moving out of town and needs to sell to pay mortgage. I have negotiated the price to 170K. Home is located in Alpharetta, GA, which is a great city outside of Atlanta. Recently sold homes in the neighborhood sold this year average out to be 225K.

This home needs the roof repaired and cosmetic upgrades. I am a beginner and don't want to get into rehabs just yet. I'm looking to assign the contract to an end buyer but I am unsure if this is a deal for the end buyer who's looking to flip and hold/sell.

To me this a good deal, but I'm nervous that I won't be able to find a cash buyer. Yes I have the appropriate out clauses in my contract but its my first deal and I'm just not confident!

Not looking to make a fortune, just looking to complete my 1st deal.

Any advice would be appreciated!!

Have you estimated the roof and cosmetic costs?  How certain are you of those numbers?  Can you think of any "gotchas" with the house that you haven't considered?

Yeah, like Amanda mentioned, what will the roof repair cost? Since the roof needs to be repaired, what other damage (ceiling, drywall, wood) did it cause that you also aren't seeing, but a home buyer's inspector may see?) If the ARV is 225k, was that a scaled down, conservative number, or a hopeful number?

Roof repairs are 6K - 8K depending on additional damage (two estimates)

The house can easily be rented as is without making any cosmetic updates, but to get a higher sale price all you would have to do is refinish existing cabinets in kitchen and bathrooms 1K - 2K

I took 6 homes recently sold in the neighborhood around the same square footage and average them out to 225K for ARV

Has to the potential to be higher with unfinished basement!

Thanks

@Scott Stevens and @Amanda Hensley

Do you have any end buyers lined up? Does it fit their criteria?