Above FMV but still profitable flip?

10 Replies

Hey all,

I've been a rental holder/landlord for 7 years, but I'm new to the wholesale scene.

I've networked with rehab/flip buyers.  I found a house that meets my buyer's specs exactly.  

He says he wants a minimum of $15k profit and a less-than-6-month rehab.The neighborhood is highly desirable.  Beautiful old houses with a high rehab/resale rate.

I don't have it under contract yet, but I have the cash to do a double closing.  

Here are the numbers I'd like to offer to my buyer:

Purchase Price: $130,000

Estimated repairs:$26,500

Buying/Holding/selling costs: Est. $15,000 (Edit to your experience)

ARV: $206,000 - $215,000

Profit = $34,500 - $43,000

ARV is based on 6 comps within .5 mile sold in the last 3 months. Work required involves pulling up carpet in favor of new floors, updating one bathroom, and updating the kitchen.

Here's the potential deal breaker: this neighborhood has a very defined split price for FMV based on all the old charming houses whose original owners are moving to assisted care or passing away vs the FMV for the newly rehabbed houses. I don't know how low I can get the contract. $130k is way above FMV based on the "as-is" comps. But still highly profitable based on the ARV comps.

Thoughts?

Let's look at your numbers applying the 70% rule and rounding up to the nearest 5k on rehab: 

Let's be conservative and say ARV is 200k.

200k*0.70 = 140k

140k-30k (rehab) = 110k

IMO, 130 is far too high.

Is this a motivated seller lead?  Are you flipping the contract or staying on for the rehab?

Remember, if you aren't embarrassed by your offer, it's probably too high (or something to that effect).

I'll do a double closing - I don't want to do the rehab, but I have a rehab buyer available.  Rehab buyer has been known to circumvent assigned contracts to be able to do the deal directly himself, so I'd prefer a double closing to ensure I get paid.