Vacation rental

18 Replies

Hello! My name is Lynn and I am new to Bigger Pockets. I'm in the midst of educating myself on real estate investing and my goal is to pursue rentals and flips close to my home in the Chicago suburbs. I figured in a few months I'd be ready to start. But, while scoping out real estate I came across a place in Wisconsin that seems to be perfect as a vacation rental. Which is something else I've been interested in.  The sellers are motivated as they are moving and have dropped the price considerably in the last month. It's turnkey and it would give me a place to put my boat as an added rental incentive. I'm driving up to see it day after tomorrow and want to be prepared. I've researched VRBO, etc on current rates and am guesstimating on how many days I'd be able to rent it. It has the possibility of year round rental as there are things to do for all seasons. Does anyone have advice on "crunching numbers" for a vacation property? Thanks so much!! And thanks to BP for the forums, podcasts and the UBG!

@Lynn Maher without knowing more about your deal the only advice I can give is know the market.  If you have not truly investigated the area you may be off on what a good deal is.  At least try to find an expert who knows the local market there.  You need to buy at the right price.  You make your money when you buy.  Start there then move forward to look at what rental rates and demand are like for vacation rentals there.