Where are the opportunities in the next 24 months

9 Replies

I am new to BP but not new to REI. Where does everybody see the market going. I see a lot of these markets heated up. In fact a lot of the institutional investors are selling. Where are the opportunities going to be in the next 24 plus months???

Glen, where are you seeing the selling by the hedge funds?  

There's no evidence that they are selling here in the Phoenix market.

I know blackstone is selling not sure where. ( I shouldnt of said a lot ) There is a lot of chatter that in some markets are ideal for them to sell because they have realized returns north 0f 40%.  

I am in a major metro in Missouri, and I can tell you that most, if not all, institutional investors have put a moratorium on their buying in this part of the country.  Investor properties are still selling albeit more slowly and at slightly lower prices, but the big boys have certainly stepped back from the market. 

I can confirm seeing some institutional selling, although I will admit that it is very small at this point.  I am seeing one here, one there, go on the market and I get the impression that they are slowly working on an exit strategy and testing the strength of the market.  Unfortunately or fortunately, however you look at it, I think they are finding that their model is not working very well in this particular region of the country.  

One interesting thing I have seen in person, is that these funds have been valuing all of their properties quite a bit more often then they have in the past.  Probably a few different conclusions you could reach from that though....

@William Jenkins  

problem with Hedge funds is they never read BP and don't know what the 2% rule is  :)