Elusive 1st Deal 1000 Miles Away!?!?!

7 Replies

Hi guys,

So... I'm pretty new to RE Investing and finally found "the perfect deal..." only thing is, its in Indiana and I live in FL. I always thought my first deal would be something in my own backyard but that's out the window...

I have been searching the forums for answers but I think this situation is a little different that what I've found. My deal is as follows...

There's a woman I met at my day job that wants to sell her home to start her granddaughters college fund. The home is in Indiana. The price is very tempting, from what she says there are not many repairs the home needs and she's VERY motivated to sell. 

I immediately thought to assign the home but in order for the numbers to work out I'd need her to drop the price. So here are my options (hopefully you guys can help out)

1. Assign the home - seller knows my commish - possible broken deal

2. Double close - double costs - less commish but successful deal

3. Refer IT - ask for referral fee - possibly not paid.

Please HELP.... I like the idea of referring it since I won't have anything to do with the paperwork (the scary part for my first deal).

@Marc Johnson  welcome to BP!

You are correct, most people like to start off in their own back yard and expand from there.

It sounds like this would make a good wholesale deal.  You don't have to show the seller what you make with an assignment - maybe you can rethink this option.

Otherwise, if you go the referral fee route, I would suggest getting some a NCND [non compete, non disclosure] signed before handing the deal over to someone.

What city is it located in?

What are the numbers? [purchase price, rehab, ARV, etc]

If it's in Central Indiana or Indy Metro - I'd be interested in it for sure.