Skip to content
Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
Rod Coleman
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Chester, VA
Votes |
Help, I have a wholesale deal with taxes owed on the property how do I structure it for the buyer and the seller

Rod Coleman
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Chester, VA
Posted Feb 21 2015, 06:06

Hello I am fairly new to wholesaling and i have a potential deal that has back taxes owed on it, however since i know that the buyer may be able to talk to the city and get the taxes reduced should i just write the contract to the seller for the difference, then market the deal to a buyer with the lien included in the purchase price and making note of it in the break down that the extra amount is due to the back taxes on the property and if they call city hall they may be able to get them reduced?

User Stats

Votes
Jeremy Tillotson
  • Investor
  • Fort Wayne, IN
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Fort Wayne, IN
Replied Feb 21 2015, 06:12

@Rod Coleman I have found buyers seem to be unwilling to pay back taxes they didn't incur. Even if the numbers are good I find it to be a harder sell for some reason. I just close on the property and then sell like a traditional sale and it seems to work well. Then if its a great deal we may just rehab it ourselves.

User Stats

Votes
Steve Vaughan#1 Innovative Strategies Contributor
  • Rental Property Investor
  • East Wenatchee, WA
Votes |
Steve Vaughan#1 Innovative Strategies Contributor
  • Rental Property Investor
  • East Wenatchee, WA
Replied Feb 21 2015, 06:23

I would make a call to city hall and give them the hypothetical.  If a new property owner comes in, what is the process or likelihood of the back taxes being waived or reduced? How does the city normally handle it?  Just making a call and removing as much uncertainty as possible for your buyer could pay off well for you @Rod Coleman !

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets