Skip to content
Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
David McBrayer
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Winter Haven, FL
Votes |
I am new to rentals and I am trying to analyse a property. Help!

David McBrayer
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Winter Haven, FL
Posted May 15 2015, 18:15

Hello everyone, David here.  I am new to rental properties and I could use some advise on how you figure out if a property is going to make money or not?  I am quite sure I am missing something and I am sure what I think looks real good, might not be that good after all.

I would like to run something by everyone and see if I can get some input.  Once I see how others do it, I will be able to figure it out.  I am sure there are plenty of different ways and I am interested in hearing about them.  Then finding a private lender, partner or financing.  

Here is the property I am looking at. It is a 2bd, 2 bth condo around 1134 sq ft. It is a concrete block building built in 1984. It is well maintained and has a $230 monthly HOA fee. The property is kept in nice shape with the pool and club house located down by the private lake and has a nice view of it. Plus there is a dock with benches. The condo is centrally located and close to the local college and LegoLand. It is about 45 to an hour from Tampa or Orlando. I think I could pick up the property for about $42k to $45k. The expected rental price is around $850 to $950 a month. Taxes about $560 a year and insurance around $800 a year. The condo is in good condition and needs minimum work to get it ready.

With that information, could you do a good analysis of the property?   I said I was new to rentals and make sure I put good deals in front of lenders.  I do use a property management company for that reason.  So I better figure that in there.  See I knew I was missing something. LOL  Thank you for your help!