Single Family w/ basement apartment

7 Replies

Hey,

I'm contemplating a property that has a two bedroom basement apartment. It is a SFH.

I wonder what are the potential issues aside from difficulty renting that might arise from having a basement apartment on a property zoned SFH?

Would a lender include the rent coming from the basement as income if I have two years of landlord experience? 

Also, this property is on a busy street but in a very desirable part of town.  I would love thoughts on this.

I would plan on living in the main part of the house which is a 3/2.  Sort of separate entrances as you must enter into the property and then there are two doors going either way once you are in.  

Thanks for your time and comments. 

You will likely want to make sure that it is considered a legal unit (permitted?) with appropriate means of egress, lest you might have some liability concerns.

Thanks for the reply. I checked the county records and it just says single unit for unit number and single family house.  That makes me think that it is not permitted.  There are no egress windows.  Is it possible that it could be grand fathered in somehow as a viable living space and not counted as a unit?  Me thinks not.  Who would I ask to see?  The listing agent told me it was a single family home.  Lastly, if I put in an egress window could I get it rezoned as a two unit?  Would that affect valuation in a positive way?  Thanks again. 

Sounds like it could be viewed as just renting out a room in your home.  So as far as egress and permits are concerned... As long as the tenant has unobstructed access to the outside then I wouldn't worry about it.