Repair estimates

11 Replies

Hello everyone, I am brand new to real estate investing and bigger pockets. I need to inspect a house for the first time to estimate repair costs. I am far from a handy man so I could use any help regarding what I should be looking for. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thank you. 

This question comes up all the time on this site and there is no easy answer. I wish I could provide you with a sheet that has costs associated with the fix but it can vary greatly from one market to another, less materials costs but more-so labor costs. 

Here is a great link to a blog post from a couple years ago but obviously this sort of stuff still hold true. http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2013/03/20...

If you are willing to spend some money I know there are apps out now that help estimate construction costs, I just have never used them nor know anyone who has so I am hesitant to mention them and definitely not endorsing them until I find out more about them. 

There is no cheat sheet for inspecting a home for repairs.  It is really best if you have someone with you who understands construction.

A few pointers:

look for cracks in the walls and floors.

Look for water damaged drywall.

Do the doors close and seal properly?

Is the bottom of any wood on the outside of the house showing signs of decay?

Would you want to live on the flooring or use the cabinets that are already there?  Don't try looking at this from a high end perspective, you need to try and look at it from the potential buyer's perspective.

Anywhere there is a plumbing fixture, look for signs of leaks.

Do the interior doors close properly or show signs of wear?

Are there signs of pests such as numerous dead bugs or rat droppings?

Does the roof show signs of wear?

Is the electric on?  If so, make sure to run the AC while you are there to make sure it works.

These are just a few things to look for and hardly an all inclusive list.