Whats the downside to mobile homes for buy and hold to rent?

14 Replies

If you missed my other post. I am new and will probably have a few questions while I am studying and analyzing deals the next few days. One question I have right now is whats the down side to buying mobile homes for buy and hold rentals? They seem to good to be true. The only thing I can think of is because they might not appreciate like a normal house does? or maybe you cant get as much for rent in a mobile home as you can a house? Whats the deal? As far as cash flow goes they seem like a no brainer. I have found some very reasonable 3/2s and 2/2s compared to houses their same size. When I calculate the numbers they seem to be a pretty strong GO, but like I said I am learning and am a little skeptical when something seems to good to be true. Would like to hear some input. Thanks!

I can buy single wides for 20k-40k. What look like pretty nice ones if not brand new. Why not just buy them and put a loop around driveway on land I own and keep buying and adding to the collection? Surely I must be missing something or everyone would be doing this. Could someone explain what I am missing? thanks