The art and science of asking questions is the source of all knowledge. (First potential deal)

16 Replies

Hello BP family,

I hope that you all are well. I recently found a potential deal and i wanted to get some opinions and advice about moving forward. My goal is to get the house at a great price, make the necessary improvements and flip it. I have never worked with a hard money lender before, I know that i will need one for this project.  Any advice with approaching hard money lenders and how to prepare my self would be greatly appreciated.

The House is a REO listing at $41,500

Its going to need about 15k-20k in Rehab. 

I checked the comps in the area and there has been numerous homes with the same Sq Ft that have sold for around $87,000 -$90,000.

The house has  2Beds 1Bath

768Sq. Ft.

$54 / Sq. Ft.

Lot Size: 5,550 Sq. Ft.

Built in 1918

The house has been on the market for 59 days. I would like to know what your thoughts are regarding this listing. I have a lot to learn as a new investor, I figured i would reach out to my BP family. I look forward to hearing from everyone, Thank You sincerely.

There are so many unknowns, I could write a book. Based solely on your numbers and very vague post, looking at this like a typical deal, like the most typical flip one could possibly have without any deviations, I calculate a $10K pay day in there - Solely looking at the numbers and based on the details you provided. If it is what you say, I wouldn't do that deal because I wouldn't want to work that hard for $10K, but I'd tell someone about it and get a $2,000 wholesale fee out of it. Heck, I might even lend the investor the money out of my Roth to make the deal happen and squeeze a bit more out of it. However....

As for the unknowns, not even sure where to begin. Here's a few though;

Do you have any experience?