Can a good deal be on listing sites for too long?

27 Replies

Hi there, I am a newbie and I am just curious...Can a good deal (generally speaking), be on sites like realtor.com, redfin, hubzu, zillow and the likes for too long, meaning like a month or plus? I think this shouldn't be the first criteria to look at while finding/analyzing a deal, but how much importance do you place on how long a property has been listed for sale on those sites?

@Maurice Mugabo , yes, good deals can be on home marketing sites for a while!

Some homes may be in areas that just don't get a ton of attention and therefore may sit on a site for months. These could become great deals, if the wait-time means the seller is now more motivated.

Also, sometimes a great deal gets hidden due to human error. Keep in mind that sites like realtor.com and redfin are fed by local MLS systems, which in turn get fed by fallible humans. If a listing agent mistakenly claims a home has only 3 bedrooms and no basement, when in fact there are 4 bedrooms plus a basement, a stinker could suddenly become a smoking hot deal!

It really depends on the local market. Here in Los Angeles great deals rarely make it to the MLS and are snatched up quickly once they do. Sometimes listings linger for a while because the asking price is too high. Bottom line is that nothing is a good deal unless you have it under contract, but I suppose that's semantics.

I would also say, yes, definitely. This is completely anecdotal, but the first property I bought in one of my partnerships was a half duplex that had been on the MLS for nearly 6 months. My partner and I were convinced we were missing something, but the numbers looked really good. We pulled the trigger and now have a completely renovated rental, being all in at 70k, and get $995 in rent. To this day we still aren't sure why we were able to get that deal, but it looks like a combination of a bad realtor, bad tenant and bad landlord.