My first Multi-Family in Nashville

14 Replies

Hello all,

This is my first post and I am working on my first multifamily deal in Nashville from the West Coast (I'm based in LA).  I am looking at a 2br/1ba and 1br/1ba multifamily that's listed at $500k.  I had my first success on a single family that I just closed so will be 1031ing the money over for the down payment.  I am planning on putting $150-$175k down and the income off the units is projected at $1400 and $2100.  

Would love any thoughts or feedback on the Nashville area.  From the research I've done it seems that the rental market is strong down there.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions

Ali

That is awesome that you are taking on a nearly coast to cost transaction. Im still very new to the business in Nashville with only 2 deals under my belt. I must say that returns on this sound very slim, at best you are looking at a 1% on your cash and renting below a 1% on the purchase. I would be interested in what part town this one is in but i could probably guess (west Nashville but i may be wrong). The MLS out here is are for people looking to pay market price, if you are looking for something closer to 1% rule (purchase @100k rent for 1k or .7%-.8 vice purchase @500k rent 2100 best case is 2100+1400/500k=.007% ) there are many investors that could get you better deal than that one from the looks of it.

I will say this if the lot is able to be used for 5-10 units as a new construction build then 500K may be warranted. In Nashville new construction is whats going depending on your area you are buying. I hope this provides some insight.  

Nashville is not California. I assure you-you do not have to settle for those returns out here.

Thanks for the feedback Jamie.  The property is located near Vanderbilt and close to downtown.  I am still running some numbers and seeing it will make sense from my end.  There is a tenant already in one unit and I think there's good potential on the 2nd as a short term.