1st deal under contract

5 Replies

Hi everyone,

I just put my first deal under contract today after a long period of analysis to paralyses. I will explain the deal and then ask my question:

The property is located in South Bend, Indiana in the 46614 zipcode

3/2

1600 sqft

Under contract at $55,000

I have two GC's estimates for repairs at between $25,000-$30,000. Mainly cosmetic except for needing a new roof.

After closing cost I would be all in for $84,000.

Using my experience as a realtor I am seeing comps that would put my ARV at $110,000.

Question: I originally was going into the deal with a friend who has decided to back out. I am now left looking for hard money lenders willing to lend a majority of the funds needed to close. I have $6000 in private funds to put towards the deal. My question is should I pursue looking for hard money lenders at almost 100% ( yes I know that is virtually impossible) or should I start looking for private money investors and if so how?

Should I continue moving forward?

Hi Stephen, congrats! The numbers DO seem tight, but if you have connections where you can save some money such as closing costs etc. then it may be worth it. The profit doesn't seem to be too high but if you're not looking for a big profit and just really looking to get your foot wet, then don't let this pass. If you're ARV is $110k, assuming that's being conservative then you can possibly get a lot more if your house comes together real nice within budget. Stick to private money as much as possible as you will save thousands from paying interest. With that said, if this is your first deal it may be really hard to find a private lender as you don't have a portfolio yet. After my first 3 houses I recently just got a private lender and bought my 4th house. I'm stoked for you and think you should make this happen.

Does the GC bid you have include labor and material or labor only?