New investor what do you think about this property???

13 Replies

So I found a 8 unit multifamily asking $325k. All 8 units rent for $800 including utilities. I did an analyst on BP which I provided below. Let me know what you think. I feel it is a pretty good deal since I ran the numbers at $5000 off asking price. I would prob not go in at that because this property has been on the market for close to a year. 

https://www.biggerpockets.com/calculators/shared/8...

I have looked into the area. It is the 7th largest county in IL based off Population. 34% of the population rents and the median age is 38 with an average household income of $49578. Numbers were based off a 2015 census. 

Now to figure out how to raise the down payment and do a little more research into the property and area. 

Let me know what you think...

I'm no expert by any means but I'm just going to share my opinion. The following look low in your expenses: vacancy, property taxes and electricity. How did you come up with those numbers? I should say that the vacancy is low per what MOST people around here advise (8-10%).

Taxes are from the county verified, electric is just for common areas since tenants pay all utilities. I went with 3% vacancy cause if one unit is vacant for 12 months that equals 3% of purchase price. Again these are preliminary numbers just to see if this would be worth digging further into. I can re-run it with a 10% vacancy and see. 

3% vacancy seems extremely optimistic. If this is one of your first properties in the area, why not underwrite it more pessimistically?