Finding Good Deals on Zillow and Loopnet

14 Replies

So I am new to the Bigger Pockets forum and community, but like many of you it has been amazing to see the resources and education available. I'm young, 23 years old, and looking to invest by the end of 2018. I've been doing my best to analyze in markets that I know -- Arizona, Utah, Missouri, Kansas, and South Carolina, but my deal analysis has been limited to using Zillow. Is this even a worthwhile resource? I've heard on many of the podcasts that speed is of the essence in finding and buying good deals. I suppose that a possible avenue is finding neglected deals where owners may be willing to go down in price since the single family home has been on the market for so long.

An example deal I've analyzed in South Carolina:

Sellers are asking 35,000 dollars for a two bed two bath duplex, 1064 square feet.

The unit in question is supposedly already rented for 425 a month per side, is in a C class neighborhood and may need some work. 

On paper it seems like a great, if small deal. I have family in the area who could help with repairs and possibly even property management, although I would like to factor that in from the start. Is it worth it to deal with properties like this, or is the potential cash flow not worth the hassle of dealing with the area and potential tenants?

Glad to finally get my start on Bigger Pockets!

@Joshua Huston You have to start somewhere. many investors start with inexpensive class c fixer uppers, make some cash, cash flow, and grow. Many will move on to class b and even a as they are not as willing to do as much work once the REI investment portfolio gains traction and value. I have purchased 3 properties under $100k in AZ this year. Many won't bother with deals this small but for me, it makes sense.

@Joshua Huston - Welcome! Zillow is a good start but you need to go beyond to be successful in REI.

Good Luck

Vivek