• Boston, MA
Votes |
Perfect property location and price but no financing options

Niara Ijezie
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Boston, MA
Posted Nov 7 2017, 09:34

Hi Bigger pockets community,

I am new to the bigger pockets and real estate investing in general. I am trying to learn as much as I can to feel comfortable with purchasing my first property. 

However, last night I found this property listed on realtor.com. The property is not to appealing but it has a lot of potential especially since it is in an up and coming area of Boston, MA and is about an 10-15min drive from the Metropolitan area here. 

Some details about the property: It is listed at 250,000 and is a Single-family home with 6bd, 1 bath and 2,316 sq/ft. The home is currently boarded up and the seller is looking for a short sale. Also, area median listing price is ranges from 379-599,000. 

With being a newbie in this business I am unsure how to calculate if this is a deal, how much renovation expenses would be, cash flow, and financing options. 

Let me know what you all think, thanks!! 

User Stats

Votes
Matt K.
  • Walnut Creek, CA
Votes |
  • Walnut Creek, CA
Replied Nov 7 2017, 09:52

Use the 70% rule on here... but I'll warn you, it's probably not a deal. If it truly was a really good deal it'd never hit MLS... doesn't mean those deals don't exist but they take some digging. You're also going to need to learn how to est rehab costs.

User Stats

Votes
Darren Budahn
  • Investor
  • Milwaukee, WI
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Milwaukee, WI
Replied Nov 7 2017, 10:37

If the house is boarded up, getting financing could be difficult or impossible. You’d need cash or hard money. Also, you really need to narrow down your ARV to a much tighter range.

NREIG  logo
NREIG
|
Sponsored
Customizable insurance coverage with a program that’s easy to use Add, edit, and remove properties from your account any time with no minimum-earned premiums.

User Stats

Votes
Anna Buffkin
  • Investor
  • Pawleys Island, SC