Deal Analysis Advice

9 Replies

I am brand new to Real Estate in the Omaha, NE area, looking to buy my first buy-and-hold in 2018. I hear people say all the time that a good benchmark for these deals should be $200+ cashflow per month. What I am finding, however, is that I am having a really hard time finding any properties that meet that benchmark when using the BP calculator.

EXAMPLE:

-4BR/2BA in great location (near 2 universities and entertainment districts)

-Listed for $85,000

-No major repairs needed

-$1,700 Annual Property Tax

-20% down

-30-year Term

-$90/mo insurance

-$925/mo rent

-10% holdback for vacancy

-7% holdback for CapEx

-7% holdback for Repairs

-5% holdback for Management (though I would manage myself)

Inputting all of these factors I am getting almost no cash flow. To hit $200 cash flow I have to bring my purchase price all the way down to ~$48,000, and the list price is already below a lot of comps.

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong in these analyses? I seem to get these type of results for every deal I look at.

Brian,

You can share the pdf of the calculator and others would be able to look at it an see if there were any errors in your calculations. 

The deal above is about $100/mo positive cash flow. It has been my experience that duplexes are a better place to start than a SFR. They usually have better cash flow and lower risk. The lower risk comes because you will almost always have at least one tenant in the property to pay the monthly expenses.

@Brian Washburn

85k PP

20% down = $17,000

Debt service of ±$325 @ 4% over 30 year

±$142 per month PT

Gross rent = $925

$90 per month insurance

$93 per month vacancy

$47 capex (typically find 5% average is enough)

$47 repairs (same)

$93 for management (I would account for 10% regardless if you manage it yourself)

Income before debt = $555 (need to account for utilities)

Net after debt service = $220

$220 x 12 = $2,640 or 15.5% cash on cash return