Best turnkey markets 2018

19 Replies

Hi Everybody:

I am new to BiggerPockets and I was wondering if I could have your advice on which would be good markets for turnkey properties today. I've read some posts about places that used to be good a couple of years ago, but are not anymore. 

Many thanks! 

Ana Barcellos

Originally posted by @Ana Barcellos :

Hi Everybody:

I am new to BiggerPockets and I was wondering if I could have your advice on which would be good markets for turnkey properties today. I've read some posts about places that used to be good a couple of years ago, but are not anymore. 

Many thanks! 

Ana Barcellos

Hi Ana!  That is a great question, but also a bit of a loaded question because there are so many moving parts to that question.  There are a lot of fantastic markets today that may be excellent markets for long-term buy & hold, but are not home to any quality turnkey companies.  The other side of that equation is that there are a few quality companies operating in what appear to be subpar long-term investment cities.  They love them and for good reason, which makes those markets actually attractive if you work with the right company.

We use Bestplaces.com to compile some data on quality cities for us to grow our company into.  We obviously love Memphis given our name, but we also love Dallas, Houston, Little Rock, Oklahoma City, Tulsa, St Louis, Kansas City and Knoxville.  Here is a chart that you can build in an excel spreadsheet and enter the information to each of these data points for any city that you want to explore.  The better the numbers, the more likely you are to have long-term success at the proper price points.

Remember though, a great city may not have a high quality Turnkey company.  That is the key to your success.  The team you choose to work with will either make or break your investment.