[Calc Review] Help me analyze this deal

7 Replies

View report

*This link comes directly from our calculators, based on information input by the member who posted.

Hello, would you please advice about this deal?  Additional information:

- I'm a FL resident so going to see the actual property is possible.

- It would be my first deal.

- It's a turnkey property.

Thanks for your input!

@Orestes Romero - Looks like a nice little house!  How many bed/bath?  These are just my initial thoughts and how I look at and think about a deal like this. 

1.  Is the house CBS? Age of roof/AC/electric/plumbing/?  The note about AC repair in 2 years is somewhat concerning.  Depending on what sort of HVAC repair you need in 2 years, it could easily wipe out all your cash flow. Replacing a unit would wipe out at least 1 full year of cash flow.  A split system down here can easily cost $2,500 (or more) to replace. 
  2. Down payment is pretty high - what sort of financing is this?  I would want better financing rates if I'm going to put down 55%!
  3. How long has the renter been in place?  Do you know what rents would be like if they left - and how quickly/easily you could lease it back up?  Loosing 1 month of rent (never mind paying commission to get a new renter) would lower your annual return to 5% and 2% if you have to pay a commission to re-lease it. 
  4. Do you have any T-12 info? Previous expenses to get a sense of the history of the maintenance of the project. 
  5. Taxes may be a little low for this area - I know that in Palm Beach County, taxes would be more like $150/mo.