Just got approved up to 400k looking Nothern nj

18 Replies

Am a complete newbie to real estate.....am looking in union county, Essex, however open to other places....there’s a low volume of houses in the market cause prices to shoot up and potential buyers putting higher offers than the house worth....I will be looking at rural areal like some parts of Irvington, Newark, and east orange just to get a nice multi family ......but area must be decent

A multi for $400,000 will either be in not great condition or in an area it sounds like you aren't looking for. You need closer to $450,000 or $500,000 to get anything in those areas. @Vaughn Smith is an agent that specializes in that area. He can probably assist you better if you want to message him. 

FWIW Irvington and Newark are the complete opposite of rural. I don't even think I can find grass in those towns lol. 

@Peter T. is absolutely right.

@Juan Delacruz Essex County has very high taxes.  Check out the Clifton area in Passaic County, specifically the Botany Village or Athenia.  It's on rise quickly, properties are within your budget and there's this project that will require massive housing needs for the general area.  The project is called On3 https://on3nj.com/.

I don't live in NJ anymore but my brother lived in Union City up until a few years ago and I checked out a few properties in the area back then. There seems to be a lot of growth near the light rail and I saw some lovely multi-families that needed some work. Here's a multi-family real estate query for Union City that may help: https://www.realtor.com/realestateandhomes-search/Union-City_NJ/type-multi-family-home/pnd-hide/sby-1

I scour gsmls and njmls every 3 days. NJ is finicky, careful with rent rules, regulations and permitting. If you planning on house hacking, Newark technically has a loophole where your deregulated if its your primary residence and not subject to their idiotic rent rules.