[Calc Review] Help me analyze this deal

8 Replies

View report

*This link comes directly from our calculators, based on information input by the member who posted.

This is my first time to purchase an off market deal that I believe is below market value. It also is currently renting at below value at $1850 a month which I could start renting at $2000 without doing any improvements. I believe with a little updating with paint I could get at least $2100. It's in an area that is being revitalized that I believe will continue to appreciate nicely.

@Jeff Ostrander The analysis looks okay. Is garbage included in water and sewer? PM with fees usually is 10 % or greater. Why aren"t you using a 30 year amortization schedule? Cash flow will be better. The object of having tenants is for the tenants to pay your mortgage. 

Thanks @Tim Herman . The garbage is included with the water bill. I have been putting 20 year loans for the calculations just for the purpose that I would like to retire in that time frame. Cashflow may be of more importance right now though to acquire more properties. 

I ran the calculation with 30 year loan and moved management to 10% and it gave me a monthly cashflow of $427. As of right now, we plan to manage it ourselves but I like to keep that expense on there in case we decide not to. 

Do the expenses and cap-ex seem reasonable? It's an older property but well maintained. My concern is that I'm not estimating appropriately due to it being a 4-plex. Will that increase or decrease the amount I need to set aside for those two?

@Jeff Ostrander if you want to know what your true capex is, download the spreadsheet in the files section by @ sam tato called  cap ex. I use 23% for my calculations. I use 8% vacancy, 5% repairs and 10% cap ex. You are at 21%. It is all one big pot anyway. Some expenses can come from any category. An example is you repaint after a vacancy. It could come from repairs,vacancy or capex.